Thunder 94, Timberwolves 92...
Thunder-Timberwolves, Box...
Wolves' Love, Thunder's Collis...
ROSTER REPORT 2010-01-20...
NOTES, QUOTES 2010-01-20...
Thunder-Timberwolves Preview 2...
Presented By: 2010-01-19...
ROSTER REPORT 2010-01-19...
NOTES, QUOTES 2010-01-19...
Thunder's blueprint to success...
Links to possible OKC team log...
Howard Schultz drops Sonics su...
OKC signs Kyle Weaver...
OKC team announces basketball ...
Web viewing of NBA games may s...
Steve
Steve
Steve
Steve
Brand has surgury
Brand has surgury
Brand has surgury
January 2010
December 2009
November 2009
October 2009
September 2009
August 2009
July 2009
June 2009
May 2009
April 2009
March 2009
February 2009
January 2009
December 2008
November 2008
October 2008
September 2008
August 2008
July 2008
June 2008
May 2008
April 2008
March 2008
 
 
Add to Google
Add to My Yahoo!
Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Add to Windows Live
News » Anthony dooms OKC, or was it the referee?


Anthony dooms OKC, or was it the referee?


Anthony dooms OKC, or was it the referee?
Carmelo Anthony's sheepish smile and his jubilant toss of the Basketball toward the rafters following the final horn Wednesday night suggested he got away dirty in the Denver Nuggets 114-113 win over the Thunder.

But veteran NBA official Dick Bavetta said the Nuggets' star didn't, and the NBA rule book backs him up.

Anthony's game-winning layup with 5.3 seconds remaining followed a controversial inbounds pass that appeared to be a backcourt violation.

With the Thunder nursing a 113-112 lead with 17.2 seconds remaining, Anthony tipped the ball in the frontcourt on the inbounds play before retrieving it in the backcourt. Bavetta, however, motioned as if the ball was tipped by Thunder forward Jeff Green and didn't call the Nuggets for a violation.

Bavetta later explained that a player must have possession of the ball in the frontcourt before a backcourt violation is called if he steps over the halfcourt line.

"It does not have to be deflected," Bavetta said. "Because he did not have positive possession, the ball goes over his head, deflects off his hands, goes into the backcourt, it's perfectly legal to go get it, pick it up and keep playing."

According to Rule No. 4, Section 6, Article G of the NBA Official Rule Book, "Frontcourt/backcourt status is not attained until a player with the ball has established a positive position in either half during a jump ball, a steal by a defensive player, a throw-in in the last two minutes of the fourth period and/or any overtime period or any time the ball is loose."

Thunder coach Scott Brooks, however, said after the game that he will talk with general manager Sam Presti to decide whether to appeal to the NBA.

"I've never seen that play not called, ever," Brooks said. "But you're talking about one of the greatest officials in NBA history. But I'm not sure. I've just never seen it not called. It's been called on me before."

Only 12 seconds earlier, the officiating crew called Russell Westbrook for a questionable kick ball violation when he came up with a steal with 29.9 seconds remaining. A replay showed Westbrook's hand hitting the ball in an attempt to scoop it up. Referee Sean Wright, however, blew his whistle as Thunder players were streaking down court for what would have been an uncontested layup to put Oklahoma City ahead, 113-111.

"I don't know what (the ref) saw, but the ball was loose for a second," said Kyle Weaver. "When Russ started to go to it, I thought it hit his knee...I definitely thought that would have been an easy bucket for us, too. We definitely had some numbers on our side after that play."

Said Green: "Calls didn't go our way. Referees don't always get every call. You've just got to play through it. We just needed to get the stop. The call was over with. We had a couple of seconds to gather ourselves and get in defensive position, but we didn't get the stop we needed."

The ruleWhy was Anthony not called for backcourt?

→According to Rule No. 4, Section 6, Article G of the NBA Official Rule Book, "Frontcourt/backcourt status is not attained until a player with the ball has established a positive position in either half during a jump ball, a steal by a defensive player, a throw-in in the last two minutes of the fourth period and/or any overtime period or any time the ball is loose."


Author: Fox Sports
Author's Website: http://www.foxsports.com
Added: February 7, 2009

 

 
Copyright © Sonicshome.com, Inc. All rights reserved 2019.